Mar 24, 2023  
Undergraduate Catalog 2019 - 2020 
Undergraduate Catalog 2019 - 2020 [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Division of Diversity, Inclusion and University Engagement


Office of the Chief Diversity Officer

The Division of Diversity, Inclusion and University Engagement has university-wide responsibility to advance diversity, equity, and inclusion. Program initiatives focus on enriching the campus environment through educational experiences that promotes diversity and inclusion; retention of students, faculty, and staff of all backgrounds; supporting academic and non-academic diversity initiatives; identifying and responding to issues and concerns related to underrepresented groups; developing institutional priorities, policies, procedures, and programs related to serving a diverse university community; and collaborating with the urban community through outreach and service.  

The President’s Council on Diversity (PCD), made up of senior administrators, faculty and students appointed by the President, advises the Chief Diversity Officer regarding all aspects of diversity applicable to the work of the University. The PCD sets goals and priorities in accordance with the Diversity Action Plan, monitors progress towards those goals, and updates the Diversity Action Plan as needed. The PCD also provides guidance to the Deans’ and Administrative Diversity Councils assembled in the colleges and non-academic departments.  Annually, the work of the Diversity Councils is recognized and awards given to the top-performing units.

The Division of Diversity, Inclusion and University Engagement is comprised of the Office of the Chief Diversity Officer, The Office of Inclusion and Multicultural Engagement (OIME), and The Diversity Institute. Our focus is the advancement of institutional diversity, equity, community relations, diversity training, diversity outreach, recruitment, and retention, and creating an inclusive and welcoming campus climate. For more information, please visit our website at

The Division of Diversity, Inclusion and University Engagement is located in Parker Hannifin Hall 235 and may be reached by calling 216-687-9234.

Office of Inclusion and Multicultural Engagement

The Office of Inclusion and Multicultural Engagement focuses on advancing the retention, academic achievement and graduation of multicultural students and offers multicultural programming and academic support services. We are the home of the Sullivan-Deckard Scholars Program, the Helen Packard Scholars Program, the LINK Scholars Program, and the Pratt Center. OIME also supports the NOA-AGEP (Northern Ohio Alliance for Graduate Education and the Professoriate) Scholars Program. Major annual OIME events include Hispanic Awareness Month, Black History Month, Women’s History Month, and Unity Graduation.

The Office of Diversity and Multicultural Affairs is located in Rhodes Tower 1254 and may be reached by calling 216-687-9394.

The Diversity Institute

The Diversity Institute (TDI) is an academic research and action center for confronting the range of topics encompassed under the umbrella of diversity, equity, and inclusion. TDI staff will work to identify issues within Cleveland State University and the broader community that can be addressed through a diversity, equity, and inclusion framework and collaborate with essential team members and community partners to address them. The Diversity Institute promotes systemic, measurable social change that enhances equity for all people. Through the combination of research, training, and advocacy, the Institute will provide the intellectual framework to advance diversity, equity, inclusion, and understanding, and spread this knowledge to organizational and community leaders and policymakers alike.

The Diversity Institute is located in the Administration Center 104 and may be reached by calling 216-687-9240.